Special Vedic Havan to Pay Homage to Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Ji on his Nirvana Day

BBK DAV College for Women organised a special Vedic Havan in its premises to pay a tribute to the leader of women empowerment, Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Ji on his Nirvana Day. On this auspicious occasion, Sh. Sudarshan Kapoor, Chairman, Local advisory committee, acted as the ‘Yajman’ joined by Principal Dr. Pushpinder Walia.

The College Principal, while addressing the students, thanked God for all His blessings and said that today is a holy and memorable day. Holy souls never leave this world but their teachings always remain alive in this world. Maharishi Dayanand ji will always be illuminated in the hearts of DAVians. The main goal of his life was to create an ideal society. Today it is the responsibility of every human being to become better as well as to create an ideal society by following Vedas and Swami Ji. Female Education was started by Swami Ji and today it is its result that standing on our feet in this world, we are capable to face the difficulties of life. Swami Ji said that along with their own progress, human beings should also work for the progress of society. The rules laid down by Maharishi are described as the ten golden principles of Arya Samaj. The Principal further said that the followers of Maharishi created DAV to pay a tribute to Swami Ji and with the sacrifices of the great people like Mahatma Hansraj, DAV is at the peak of progress today.

Sh. Sudarshan Kapoor, in his address to the students, highlighted the lifestyle of Swami Ji. He added that Swami Ji at that time abolished the evil traditions spread in the world like child marriage, ban on female education and false practices spread in the name of religion. He motivated the students and said that irrespective of age, they should do efforts to be successful in their lives.

Other dignitaries present on the occasion included Sh. Sandeep Ahuja (Member of Arya Samaj), Principal Dr. Neera Sharma, Prof. Renu Vashisht, Prof. Poonam Kohli, Prof. Sapna Gupta (Member of Arya Yuvti Sabha), Dr. Nidhi Aggarwal, Dr. Gauri Chawla and other members of teaching and non-teaching staff.